10 Minute City Planr

10 minute city planner app logo
Team Name: 
Ballarat Hackerspace Beta

Ballarat 10 Minute Planr

 

What is it?

The Ballarat 10 Minute Planr is an app that lets you visualise the vision of Ballarat as a 10 minute city - that is, being able to travel to essential services within 10 minutes. The current vision is enabled through driving, however the vision is to support 10 minutes by walking, riding, and public transport.

Who are you?

We are Brett James, Josh Stewart, and Robert Layton from the Ballarat Hackerspace.

What is that?

The Ballarat Hackerspace is a place for creators, makers, and hackers from all walks of life to collaborate on projects. Current projects include quadcopters, Internet of Things, software, hardware and 3D printing!

Back to the project -- what did you find?

Our analysis showed that Ballarat is a 10 minute city by car, which is great. Support for 10 minute riding is also pretty good too (weather permitting). Even 10 minute walking is quite good from the CBD, but access starts to drop off outside of the CBD.

How did you build it?

The project backend is built using the fat free framework in PHP, on a LAMP stack. The front-end is predominately Javascript, using JQuery, Google Maps API, and Bootstrap for UI.

What datasets did you use?

Ballarat have actively put quite a number of datasets ondata.gov.au, including the locations of services and public facilities. We used a number of these, and intend to add more services soon!

Datasets Used: 
Ballarat Playgrounds: http://data.gov.au/dataset/ballarat-playgrounds Ballarat Bus Shelters: http://data.gov.au/dataset/ballaratbusshelters Ballarat Education Facilities: http://data.gov.au/dataset/ballarat-education-facilities Ballarat Bike racks: http://data.gov.au/dataset/ballarat-bike-racks Ballarat Reserves: http://data.gov.au/dataset/ballarat-reserves Ballarat Footpaths: http://data.gov.au/dataset/ballarat-footpaths Ballarat Sports grounds: http://data.gov.au/dataset/ballarat-sports-grounds Victorian Hospitals: https://www.data.vic.gov.au/data/dataset/hospital-locations

Local Event Location: